Skip to content

My Father’s Hope

June 18, 2011

On February 11, 1996, my Father wrote me a letter.

He titled it “My hope.”

The words were typed on an old Apple computer — and though I (a stubborn 14-year-old) probably didn’t act like it meant much at the time, I folded it up, tucked it away, and still have it in a little wooden, puzzle box that sits on a bookshelf in our guest room.

When I thought about what I wanted to write about fatherhood for a Father’s Day post, the letter came to mind.

So I climbed the stairs, opened the box, and peeled back the 15-year-old folds of the now slightly-yellowed paper.

I’d like to share some of the letter with you.

 

Always look at life through eyes of love, hope, and faith. Don’t ever give up your dreams and visions of future things.

Because you can reach your rainbow only by making it happen yourself.

Remember, “If it is to be, it is up to me.” No one can stand in your way of what you want, but you.

Problems, or things you think are problems, are only temporary. Tomorrow, you won’t even remember what seemed like a major problem today. Problems are really challenges that make us better when we have the courage to face them and beat them.

Remember I’ll always be there for you, to protect you and guide you. Like God, I am your father, you’re here because of me, and I am responsible for your care.

You mean everything to me because you are part of me.

Listen to my words of experience, knowledge and guidance. I’ve learned from hurt, disappointment, sleepless nights and restless days.

When all is said and done, and your life on this earth is long, these are the only things that will matter to you and you will look back without regret or sadness:

1. That you did your best in everything — lived every moment to the fullest extent possible.

2. Took advantage of every opportunity.

3. Loved other people.

4. Did the right thing no matter what.

5. Achieved your dream, whatever it may be.

6. That you left everything better than when you found it.

Right now is the first moment of the rest of your life. It doesn’t matter what happened one second ago, one day ago, or one year ago.

What matters is what you do from this second on.

There’s always a sunrise, a new day and a new beginning. Let’s share it together in love, hope and happiness.

I love you,

Dad

 

If I didn’t say it then, Dad — thank you for your hope. It means the world to me, as do you.

And now I can pass down this hope to my children.

 

My Dad, the first day he met me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Barb permalink
    June 18, 2011 5:08 pm

    Oh that’s lovely. Happy Father’s Day Andrew! You done good!!

Leave a Reply

