Skip to content

Boring blogging

June 14, 2011

I feel like I’ve been a boring blogger this week.

Like when you’re reading my blog, you’re like, “Oh ma gah, this is soooo boring.”

It’s simply been a busy week — without a lot of “aha” moments that compel me to go on some inspirational rant about life, love and the meaning of it all.

Work is busy. Home is busy. And an overly busy brain is often void of original thought.

However, I like that you read my blog and give me a reason to write, so I will try my best to mutter something of substance today:

1. Pillsbury chocolate chip cookies (the one you make with the refrigerated dough) are really good. I can’t figure out why they are so good. But one day I will figure it out. Oh yes, I will determine the secret ingredient.

2. The woman at the Hawaiian Nail Bar yelled at me for having bad cuticles. She kept shaking her head and muttering to herself in a different language and repeating, “Vaseline! Put on Vaseline!” Greasy fingertips are not for me, thank you very much.

3. I ate too many cookies last night. Leave me alone about it.

4. I’ve run 8 of the last 9 days. Just think of that when you read #3 again with a scolding look on your face. Sometimes I punch the air when I run — like a mixture of Tae Bo and jogging. But I make sure nobody is around.

5. My Mother-in-law made this really great Pesto sauce last night out of my fresh basil plant that I had to put outside because it had ants in it. The plant, not the Pesto. I probably could’ve reworded that sentence to make it more understandable.

6. I want to learn to like watching sports more. Do you like to watch sports? Teach me how.

Have a wonderful day, soon I will be back with heartfelt something or others, but for today: this shall do.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. happymommy permalink
    June 15, 2011 8:57 am

    I never comment on your blog but I read it daily and it entertains me so Thanks for that!!!!

  2. Brn permalink
    June 15, 2011 10:43 pm

    Learning to enjoy sports 101:
    1) The actual game is only about 10% of the story
    2) Learn about the players – positions they play, were they a superstars coming out of college/highschool or were they completely underrated, how long they have been in the league, what they are good/bad at etc
    3) Learn about the other team – same idea as 2
    4) Always know why the game is important! How close are they to making the playoffs? Does this help seeding? Is it a rivalry game? etc
    5) Listen to sports radio on the way to work and back home.. thats where you’ll quickly pickup 2-4
    6) Once you have all this info, the game becomes the best reality TV show ever. Anything can happen in sports. The freaking Dallas Mavericks beat the Evil Empire Miami Heat! What an amazing series!!!! Also, the Ags are going to win a national championship in football this year, so you might as well start with that team.
    6) There is a ton more but I really didn’t want to spend more than 2 mins thinking about this 🙂

    • June 15, 2011 10:51 pm

      @Brn: Matt is going to love that you made this list for me. And I actually haven’t heard it put this way before: “Once you have all this info, the game becomes the best reality TV show ever. Anything can happen in sports.” I actually find that point very convincing, Brn… this may be life-changing.

  3. Morgan permalink
    June 15, 2011 10:48 pm

    I’m not sure you can be taught to like watching sports. I think you can possibly learn to tolerate them on tv. I was exposed to sports in utero (football bowl games, USA hockey team beating the Ruskies in the 1980 olympics, etc) so I think that is where my love of sports began. For the most part, I only truly enjoy watching football on tv. I can watch just about any game at any time with any team.

    Baseball and basketball don’t generally do it for me as much unless it’s one of my teams, but I enjoy physically going to those games. Maybe b/c I feel more part of the action that way. I dunno.

    The Olympics are always fun to watch though. Getting exposed to different kinds of sports and trying to will your country to win is fun to me. Because I’m weird. 🙂

    • June 15, 2011 10:52 pm

      I think growing up with it is key, Morgan! But there’s always hope 🙂 Maybe I’ll fall in love with sports when my kids start playing!

Leave a Reply

