Skip to content

Women of substance

May 4, 2011

One day, not long ago, I heard a famous woman speaking about her life. She spoke of her fame, her passion — and what motivated her to become the woman she was today. But it was her goal that stuck with me:

“I always wanted to become a woman of substance,” she said.

She continued that some women are beautiful, some are smart, some are famous — but a woman of substance, now that’s something real. That’s something to aim for.

I thought about this when she said it.

It jiggled around in my brain a bit and I decided at that moment that that’s what I wanted, too.

In fact, I thought, every woman I looked up to fit that description. My grandmothers, my aunts, my mother… they are all made of a unique fabric. They are bold. Thoughtful. Soulful. They have substance.

I still think about this when I talk to young girls today. I ask them: “What do you stand for?” (After all, my Mom always said: “If you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything.”)

Unfortunately, young women have few role models to look to. Many celebrities seem to believe that substance is only skin-deep. They connect by baring cleavage. They preach a message of promiscuity. And not to be Marmish with the Mostest here, but most of the “substance” seen in Hollywood is substance abuse.

So who are the role models?

Funny you ask.

I’ll tell you.

She’s a Grandma.

A Mimi.

A Nana.

An auntie.

A Nanny.

A dear friend.

A baby.

A blondie.

A babe.

A boss.

A seestor.

A saint.

She is a next door neighbor – and a woman next in line. She is a disarming storyteller – and a devoted wife. She is a woman of great integrity and a model of great humility. She is grace.

And I am blessed to know so, so many.


One Comment leave one →
  1. ~Amy permalink
    May 4, 2011 3:46 pm

    Blondie is my cousin! And she is definitely a woman of substance. She recommended your blog and now I follow on Facebook. Love your writing – keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

