Skip to content

Up

April 30, 2011

He wanted the door shut, the covers pulled up and the lights off. He wanted to “snuggle” as close to Mommy as possible — and his chubby grin beamed when all his wishes were accommodated.

He held my iPhone up for all of us to see with the Pixar movie UP playing for our entertainment.

And there we laid: my two babes and I, snuggled together in the middle of my king size bed in the dark room. Dishes filled the sink. A late hour hit the clock. But none of that mattered.

The moonlight peeked in through the wooden blinds – and my babies’ faces glowed in the blue light of the movie; captivated, happy and safe beneath Mama’s wings.

It was a moment I’ll never forget.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2011 11:53 am

    So sweet. Reminds me of that poem, Babies Don’t Deep.

  2. April 30, 2011 12:06 pm

    Absolutely beautiful.

  3. April 30, 2011 7:22 pm

    Elizabeth — I’m thinking you mean Babies Don’t Keep. I just googled it! It’s beautiful 🙂

    Babies Don’t Keep

    Mother, O Mother, come shake out your cloth,
    Empty the dustpan, poison the moth,
    Hang out the washing, make up the bed,
    Sew on a button and butter the bread.

    Where is the mother whose house is so shocking?
    She’s up in the nursery, blissfully rocking.

    Oh, I’ve grown as shiftless as Little Boy Blue,
    Lullabye, rockabye, lullabye loo.
    Dishes are waiting and bills are past due
    Pat-a-cake, darling, and peek, peekaboo

    The shopping’s not done and there’s nothing for stew
    And out in the yard there’s a hullabaloo
    But I’m playing Kanga and this is my Roo
    Look! Aren’t his eyes the most wonderful hue?
    Lullabye, rockaby lullabye loo.

    The cleaning and scrubbing can wait till tomorrow
    But children grow up as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
    So quiet down cobwebs; Dust go to sleep!
    I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.

    – Ruth Hulbert Hamilton

  4. April 30, 2011 9:51 pm

    LOVE moments like this. And if you see my home, it’s pretty obvious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

