Skip to content

Next to godliness

April 14, 2011

I don’t know who said it. And google has contradicting answers (gasp!) But there is a quote which I hold near and dear to my ever-beating heart:

“Cleanliness is next to godliness.”

Sigh, it’s so true.

I had one of those days yesterday — tired, stressed, blah, and then, the turning point.

I went downstairs to our company gym at 3 pm and hopped on the treadmill. Pandora wouldn’t work on my phone (darn you, bad reception!) so I ran for 30 minutes to the thump, thump, thumping rhythm of my tennis shoes against the rubber belt. It slowly hypnotized me. My stress began to sweat from my pores and before I knew it, my workout was over. I was re-energized. I easily passed up the M&Ms on the way back to my office and lavished in a big glass of water and a juicy Clementine.

I went grocery shopping for fresh vegetables and made a big pot of  stew for dinner, complete with cabbage, carrots, peas, green beans, broccoli, oregano, basil, onions and garlic all in a lightly salted chicken broth.

 

 

At the end of the night after the little ones fell into slumber, I cleaned the kitchen, washed two loads of clothes, straightened my bedroom, and Clorox’d the bathroom. This morning, my home was full of godliness.

I opened the blinds and let the morning sun pour into my sparkling kitchen. I made a fresh pot of coffee (and saved 5 bucks on my usual running-late Starbucks). I toasted a bagel, checked my email and breathed deeply.


 

It’s amazing how doing something small (like exercising) can clean up all aspects of life – making us feel more in control, at peace, and perhaps even, closer to God.

 

 

And tonight’s chore? The litterbox. Smellyness is not next to godliness.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrew permalink
    April 14, 2011 11:52 am

    Good one! Love those endorphins!

  2. Cari permalink
    April 15, 2011 1:11 am

    So funny, that was me today. Stressed & anxious. The only solution was to let those floors & the bathroom have it! I do believe it’s therapeutic. 🙂 It’s also a perfect example of how to live out the Serenity Prayer. Change and do what you’re able to, & lift the rest up to God.

    • amy permalink
      April 18, 2011 8:32 am

      Love this as well….I have not had Godliness in a quite a while….if it is related to cleanliness. but if all goes well, I will soon! Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

