Skip to content

Give it a go

April 6, 2011

I just interviewed our worldwide creative director in front of our entire office. Hundreds of people sat glued to his answers as I asked him interesting questions in true “Inside the Actor’s Studio” form. From “What’s your favorite sound?” to “What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?” to the last question:

How would you like people to remember you at your funeral?

Morose, maybe. But if answered properly, it gives us a good barometer for which to measure our lives. What legacy do we want to leave behind? What qualities do we want people to remember us by? What do we want our grandchildren’s grandchildren to say about us?

He  – a stout, bald-headed British man with kind, blue eyes – paused when I asked him this and then calmly replied:

“That I was positive. And always ready to give it a go.”

After the interview, one of my coworkers came into my office and introspectively said: “I wish I could live my life that way. Well, maybe I will.” And off he went, inspired.

I thought to myself: Self, how are you living that inspires other people? That makes them say, “Maybe I should live my life that way?” It’s a good question – and one that I’ll spend my whole life trying my best to answer.

It reminds me of a quote by Saint Seraphim: “Maintain a spirit of peace and you will save a thousand souls.” Joy is infectious. Peace is magnetic. And sometimes our biggest impact on earth is simply in the positive way we’re living – ready to give life a go.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

