Skip to content

Baby Registry Must-Haves

March 29, 2011

These lists are everywhere. Magazines, blogs, bathroom stalls. OK, not really bathroom stalls. That’s just gross.

But lately, I’ve had several new-mommy-to-be-friends ask me what they should register for. So here’s my short list:

1. When it comes to diapers, I prefer Pampers. I haven’t tried all the other brands, but the Swaddlers and Cruisers have been fairly leak/blow-out proof for us, so we’re big fans. This is a common consensus amongst my fellow mamas as well.

2. I love sleepers. For those of you who don’t have babies, those are the little footy pajama things. In an air conditioned house, my babies are happy indoors in those even in the summer. And I prefer the zipper to snaps — it’s easier for those 3 a.m. diaper changes.

3. Bath time is a tricky one: My Mom has one of these yellow sponge-bed things that she bathes the babies in the sink with (but she has bigger sinks than me). I use this bath chair for when they’re young, and this whale bathtub for when they get a bit older. The chair cradles their little bodies perfectly and works from newborn until they’re sitting up. Once they’re sitting up, they can be like Jonas in the big whale. Soon enough they’ll be splashing about in the big boy tub.

4. Speaking of splashing about in the big boy tub, I have this rubber ducky spout cover to prevent little man from bonking his head. It’s also a cute decoration for the kiddy tub.

5. And now, moving on to towels. Hoody towels are not a must-have, but they’re nice. Plus, they make for super cute pics. Hello, little guy!

6. The Bumbo chair is all the rage these days. Little Miss Kate is already sitting in hers and it helps build neck strength and can also double as a high chair.

7. Keeping with funny words that start with “B,” the Boppy pillow is a definite must-have for the nursing mom. It fits around your waist like a little baby shelf or serves as a nice prop pillow for the little one to rest upon.

8. The Boppy bouncer is also a family favorite. Both of the babies have used it and it’s the perfect anywhere-seat when holding them is not an option.

9. Instead of a formal bassinet, we use a bedside Pack-n-Play in our house. Not only are these little “baby-cages” (as a friends’ husband cheekily coined them) super convenient for trips to the grandparents, but they come with a bassinet and diaper changing function to use as baby grows.

10. When it comes to carseats, there are tons of opinions, ratings and reviews. But here’s my two-cents: once your baby grows into his “big boy” seat, get a carseat with cup holders. These little pockets serve as nice Goldfish, sippy cup or toy holders and are a great distraction when on the road.

11. The best burp clothes are simple cloth diapers. White, thick and durable, these utilitarian diapers aren’t just for tushies.

12. And speaking of wipes, we just use Target brand. I’m sure there are tons of opinions on the best, but Target works for us.

13. Then there’s the play mat. Great for tummy time and for toy-time, floor mats with dangly objects are great for stimulating your little ones.

14. Not a necessity, this jumper makes for fun playtime and building leg strength.

15.When it comes to diaper bags, I like big ones that I can stuff a bunch of stuff in. But that’s just me. I also like washable (or wipe-downable) mats that fit into the bag easily for diaper-changing on the go.

16. And don’t forget about Mommy. New Moms need love to, so pamper your postpartum mamas with comfy pants, a water bottle – or my favorite nursing bra (also comfy to sleep in!) And if we want to talk breast pumps here, go with the double. It’s more money, but saves a lot of time.

Did I miss anything?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 11:44 am

    Found your blog in a comment from Kelle Hampton’s “All the Small Things”… LOVE it. ā¤

  2. March 30, 2011 4:10 pm

    Lauren, I think every mom should write up a list like this and post it on the Internet! It’s reading advice from a ton of different moms that helped me best in my decision-making the first time around.

    It’s funny how families have such vastly different experiences! We had horrible luck with blowouts in Pampers aand found that switching to Huggies Supremes made a huge difference. My kids have flat bottoms, and in Pampers they’d just poop right up the back every time. (It was so bad we eventually had to switch to cloth diapers with our second baby, but that’s a different story.)

    My sister preferred Pampers, but did stop using them after the company started its big UNICEF support campaign. I’m not sure if you know about this – and obviously every family has to make their own boycott decisions – but it’s worth doing some research on. UNICEF is a big sponsor of sterilization and abortion in the developing world. Yikes!

    On another note – I just recently started reading your blog after some of my friends shared your posts in my Google Reader, and I’ve been especially touched by your posts about little Kate. What a blessing she is! And what a blessing you are to the world of blogging. šŸ™‚

  3. March 30, 2011 4:25 pm

    Thank you both for the kind words!

    I jumped over to both of your blogs as well. Love them! What a wonderful outlet us mamas have to share and connect.

    @Arwen: That’s a great idea about every mom sharing her favs. Send me a link when you write your registry must-have post, I’d love to take a peek!

Leave a Reply

