Skip to content

Sisterhood

March 26, 2011

I have learned something about myself lately: I am very ceremonious.

I like the meaningful moments in life where sentiment is expressed and memories are born. I like that we had a funeral for the dead lizard found in the women’s bathroom at my work (I gave the eulogy). And I like turning casual dinners into surprise engagement parties, and making decadent breakfasts when guests stay over. I like decorating the whole house for holidays and when everybody goes around the table and says what they’re thankful for at Thanksgiving. I like hearing the toasts at wedding receptions and seeing picture slideshows at 50th anniversary parties of a young couple growing old together. I am sentimental this way – and my friends and family know it. So last night, when I had 4 girlfriends over for a girls-night-in, they weren’t surprised when I threw out my “Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood” party idea.

“What if,” I prefaced, “We wrote words on little pieces of paper… like ‘love,’ ‘compassion,’Ā  ‘courage,’ or ‘integrity,’ and put them in a jar…”

They stared with blank expressions.

“And then we each pulled out a piece of paper and had to tell a story based on that word?” I continued.

“Is this going to go on your blog?” Heather asked.

“Maybe,” I responded. And we all laughed. And then got distracted. And ate brownies and pizza and spinach and artichoke dip (it was Heather’s and it was delicious, let me know if you want the recipe).

We didn’t end up doing my Ya-Ya Sisterhood word-game, but what we did end up doing is chatting for hours. Herding toddlers. Nursing and cuddling and passing around babies. And in the midst of it all, I reflected that sometimes the best moments are the unplanned ones. Who needs ripped up pieces of paper with words, when you have 5 strong women, 4 strong-willed babies, wine and chocolate?

The moral of the story: In the life of parenthood, thank God for sisterhood.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2011 4:18 pm

    I am the first of my girlfriends to have a baby, and I can’t wait until the others start so that we can have babies and mamas moments like these. For now, I’ll just be the only one bringin’ the bebe.

    • March 26, 2011 4:44 pm

      That’s the best, Elizabeth — because then everybody just spoils your little one šŸ™‚

  2. Stephanie permalink
    March 26, 2011 5:35 pm

    Thanks for a fun night! What a great group of girls! We should make that a regular thing šŸ™‚

  3. Kimber permalink
    March 27, 2011 12:35 am

    I loved the lizard ceremony! This is a great piece! Glad you had a fun ladies night!

Leave a Reply

