Skip to content

The story of a cat

March 13, 2011

A Lenten story:

He crawled atop the dresser, knocking over folded undies and balled socks – balancing his fat, wobbly body as he tiptoed on the warm piles of fresh-from-the-dryer laundry. Then, once assessed and approved, he plopped down and rolled up like a cinnamon bun upon the clean stack.

 

 

He stared at me indignantly — without remorse or care. “What’re you going to do about it?” he challenged with his marbled, sleepy eyes.

 

 

I reminded him that me – and God – were watching him, but he seemed unfazed.

 

 

Cats aren’t particularly concerned with good behavior.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Diane permalink
    March 14, 2011 9:52 pm

    I have 2 big bad old boys, (cats), one weighing about 25 lbs. On Sunday as I was reading the am prayer, the Canticle of Daniel, I came to the line “All you beasts, wild and tame, bless the Lord. ” I looked over at Brewster, the biggest bad boy, laying on the arm of the couch. I couldn’t help smiling as I looked at my “beast”. He acknowledged me by opening one eye. He looks a lot like the cat in your pictures.

Leave a Reply

