Skip to content

A little sunshine

March 3, 2011

Today I went home to feed Kate at lunch. She prefers Mommy to the bottle, and hasn’t been doing fantastic eating when I’m at work — so I thought I’d give myself a little midday treat and visit the family at home.

We made sandwiches. Wheat bread with cheddar cheese and honey ham, topped with ripe tomatoes and crisp romaine lettuce. We sat on the deck under the springtime sun. There was a nice breeze in the air. My little man sat in the plant bed, scooping dirt from under the green bush into Lady’s dog bowl and mixing it up with a stick. Kate lay in my lap and her whispy baby hair fluttered in the breeze.

We listened to country music. Talked some. Were quiet some. But most of all, we just soaked up the moment and sat in the light. Then Matt popped inside the house and returned with Double Stuffed Oreos.

And I drove back to work refreshed.

 

Every day needs a little sunshine.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrew permalink
    March 3, 2011 3:47 pm

    The perfect family lunch break!

  2. Stephanie permalink
    March 3, 2011 4:11 pm

    My kind of lunch break!

Leave a Reply

