Skip to content

My Favorite Things (this week) Vol. 6

March 1, 2011

My Favorite Things (this week) is a fun way to share the little, big, amusing, beautiful, interesting, and sometimes just plain helpful things that I run across each week. There’s no formula to the pickin’. Just random things that make me smile. And smiles are made to be shared. See more Favorite Things here.

*Note: This post is chock-full of deliciousness and calories. But the good news is you can’t gain weight from reading (I don’t think). After savoring a Sheila’s Dream Bar yesterday from one of my favorite sandwich shops, Potbelly, I was inspired to write a My Favorite Things (this week) fast-food sweets edition.

1. Sheila’s Dream Bar from Potbelly Sandwiches
I couldn’t find a picture that does these luscious bars justice, so I’ll just post one of the restaurant that I found online. They are, in a word: decadent. Oatmeally, chocolate-chippy, caramelly, half-baked mounds of saran-wrapped goodness that literally melt in your mouth. Legend has it that the bars were created by the founder’s wife, Sheila. Or at least that’s what I read on a blog somewhere. Anyway, try it — along with a toasted turkey sandwich.


Photo from Flickr

 

2. Chick-Fil-A Peppermint Milkshake

These are usually only seasonally available, but that makes them even better. I love how you get crunchy little chunks of chocolate and peppermint while sipping the thick, ice creamy concoction. I always make the hubby order one and then have a sip (or five) of his.

 


3. Bruster’s Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream

This is Bruster’s second appearance on My Favorite Things (this week). It’s just that good. I love the mint chocolate chip ice cream, mostly because it doesn’t skimp on the chocolate chip part. Instead of the usual chocolate dots found in most store-bought brands, Bruster’s has big, chunky shavings in every bite.

 

 

4. Chili’s Chocolate Chip Paradise Pie

According to Men’s Health Magazine, this is one of the 20 Worst Foods in America. As they say in the article, “Would you eat a Big Mac for dessert? How about three? That’s the calorie equivalent of this decadent dish.” I guess if you split it three ways, then it’s just one Big Mac each.

 

 

What about you? What are some of your favorite out-to-eat treats?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kimber permalink
    March 1, 2011 9:44 pm

    Darn you…I am hungry for sweets now! But I love the way you write so I will accept! Thanks for sharing this fun piece!

  2. Andrew permalink
    March 2, 2011 6:16 am

    Thanks, I just had a hyperglycemia attack just reading your descriptions! 🙂 Must… now …..go….. take……insulin …..shot……

  3. Patti permalink
    March 2, 2011 8:52 am

    I believe I see a theme w/in your theme….chocolate chips seem to be required to make your list! 🙂

Leave a comment