Skip to content

Born in the 80’s

February 1, 2011

*Note: This post was inspired by listening to the Huey Lewis and the News radio station on Pandora. For full effect, you may want to turn it on.

According to Five for Fighting, we only have 100 years to live.

If that’s so, there are people who lived through the entire 1900’s. Who were alive when Einstein proposed his Theory of Relativity in 1905 – and when Tom Cruise proposed to Nicole Kidman 1990. When Orville Wright died in the first airplane crash ever – and when JFK Jr. died in a plane crash 9 decades later. They saw the Roarin’ 20’s, the Great Depression, the Disco Era and Sweatin’ to the Oldies. The first Nobel Prize and the first MTV music award. The first Model T and the first Super Model.

Ok, you get my point.

Each decade was uniquely defined by advancements, enlightenment, inventions and fashion statements. But few were as memorable as the age of big hair, bangle bracelets and the Material Girl:

The 80’s

 


 

***

 

There were a lot of important events that happened in the 80’s in world politics, religion -and space travel. But we’re not going to focus on that in this post. Because in the 80’s, I was a single-digit-aged kid and don’t remember any of it. However, here’s what I do remember (fondly)…

 

Sweet Valley Twin Books

In elementary school, I read Sweet Valley Twins, where Jessica and her twin sister, Elizabeth, were in middle school. In middle school, I read Sweet Valley High. And in highschool, I read Sweet Valley University (SVU). I was always ahead of my time. I remember sitting on the beach in Hawaii as an 8-year-old in a plastic, reclining beach chair glued to the pages of these books.

 

 

 

Roller Skates

I had white skates with pink wheels (this picture was from my earlier skating days sans pink wheels) and I used to be really good at skating backwards. This was a talent that only some of my friends had perfected, so it was quite the show-off move.

 

Barbie Skateboard

Even though I have a picture of me standing with this skateboard, I’m not quite sure I ever really mastered the skill of actually riding the skateboard. But nonetheless, it is a memory.

 

 

 

 

Lode Runner

I played this computer game on our old, boxy 80’s computer, looking at a green-colored screen. And even more relevant, I used a joy stick. Yes, touch phones and movement-activated video games were but a sci-fi movie.

 

 

 

Paula Abdul

Long before American Idol, Paula Abdul – and her Cold Hearted Snake video – were the reasons I wasn’t allowed to watch MTV.

 

 

 

 

Silver Spoons

I had a crush on Ricky Schroder.

 

 

 

 

Popples

I have several pictures from my childhood camera where I lined up my popples and did a photoshoot. I must find these to share with you. In the meantime, this strange picture from google will do.

 

 

 

 

New Kids on the Block

Donny was my favorite. I had been known to kiss his poster before bed at night.

 

 

 

 

Debbie Gibson

“I get lost in your eyes…” She goes by Deborah now.

 

 

 

 

Cherry Coke & Vegetable Thins

I was once enjoying this delicious combination as a snack and confidently told my mother, “I’m eating my fruits and vegetables.” I love this commercial.

 

 

 

 

Berenstain Bear Books

I think my favorite of the series was “The Berenstain Bears and too much junk food.” They all eat a bunch of “choco-chums” and drink a bunch of “sweetsie cola.” I googled the book and found this cartoon version.

 

 

 

 

Barbies, Barbies & more Barbies

I would get lost playing with my Barbies for hours. They had elaborate lives with complicated plots and dramatic relationships. Somehow I kept it all straight. They also hopped when they walked.

 

 

 

***

 

And there’s so much more: Ghostbusters movies, She-Ra, and the list goes on. It’s funny what defines a decade. And that some day, looking back, my children will think about the ‘teens as their childhood decade and be like: “Remember those archaic iPhones? Those were so oldfashioned!”

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Sberlin permalink
    February 1, 2011 12:28 pm

    She-Ra. Rainbow Brite. GI Joe. Transformers. My big sister’s Lite Brite And these commercials:


    • February 1, 2011 12:53 pm

      You are my generation, girlfriend! Love those Pepsi commercials. And I had a Lite Brite 🙂

  2. Shelley N. permalink
    February 1, 2011 1:06 pm

    I still have my Sweet Valley Twins books! I also found a treasure trove of Sweet Valley Highs at the Round Rock Half Price Books a few months ago. We should totally long distance book club these.

    • February 1, 2011 1:07 pm

      Shelley, don’t tempt me with this long distance book club. I’m totally considering reading them again 🙂

  3. February 1, 2011 7:39 pm

    Shelley – I’m in. Let’s make Neha do it, too.

  4. Morgan permalink
    February 12, 2011 10:26 pm

    I had that exact NKOTB tshirt!!! I would wear it with my neon tshirt clip (http://www.google.com/search?q=80's+t+shirt+clip&hl=en&prmd=ivns&source=univ&tbs=shop:1&tbo=u&ei=YVxXTc3gCtG5tgedkbCCDQ&sa=X&oi=product_result_group&ct=image&resnum=3&ved=0CDsQzAMwAg)

    I miss my Popples as well, I wish I still had them…along with my Sweet Valley books. I also wish I had a picture of my skateboard-scooter. It had a detachable handlebar, so you could either ride it like a scooter, or detach to make it just a skateboard. Ah, memories!

Leave a Reply

