Skip to content

My Favorite Things (this week) Vol. 4

January 31, 2011

My Favorite Things (this week) is a fun way to share the little, big, amusing, beautiful, interesting, and sometimes just plain helpful things that I run across each week. There’s no formula to the pickin’. Just random things that make me smile. And smiles are made to be shared. See more Favorite Things here.

*Note: Being in the hospital is no fun, but we managed to find some bright spots. So this volume of My Favorite Things (this week) is the children’s hospital edition.


1. Starbucks coffee

There’s a coffee maker in the “refreshment room” on our floor, tucked behind an ice maker with some sort of freeze dried coffee concoction. But luckily, in the land of half-soggy cafeteria food and juice cups, there is a beacon of light, beckoning to me with it’s foamy, milky, caramelly deliciousness: Starbucks. It’s actually one of the cleanest, spiffiest, most quality-consistent Starbucks I’ve seen. I should write a positive letter to the management. And they had these fabulous vanilla pomegranate cashew samples yesterday that were dee-lish. I could write a post just about those little nuggets of happiness. By the way, have I told you that this hospital stay is seriously derailing the baby-weight losing situation?

 

 

 

 

2. Radio Flyer wagon

I love these things in and out of the hospital – but wagons instead of wheelchairs? Too cool. This is the selected mode-of-transportation around here for the younger kiddos.

 

 

3. Baby tag blanket

I have no idea who made this, but some person from some department brought it to me this afternoon for Kate. “Babies like to play with the tags,” she said. I think it’s just adorable. It also looks like an easy sewing project (if I could sew) for a unique, homemade baby gift. It’s soft and felty on one side – and shiny and silky on the other. Each tag is a different color and texture as well.

 

 

 

 

4. Hospital lobby

Walking into the lobby of this place is like walking into the Magical Kingdom at Disney World. OK, maybe that’s a bit of an exaggeration – but this certainly isn’t the usual ole’ hospital lobby with pamphlets and weird carpet and a funky smell of shrimp fried rice wafting from the cafeteria. I’m talkin’ a full storybook-like facade here with balconies and columns and a huge skylight. On Saturday, a girl was playing the harp as I went to get my morning Starbucks. Today, they had a jazz singer and a baby grand. Not bad at all.

 

 

 

 

5. Children’s Hospital commercials

I think these TV spots came out a year or so ago. I remember hearing their corresponding radio commercials on my morning commute and thinking they were captivating. So in the spirit of children’s hospitals, I thought I’d share them with you. I love the magical, storybook feel and the voiceover.

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

