Skip to content

Word of the Year

January 8, 2011

I followed a link to Lisa Leonard designs and stumbled upon this: the Word of the Year Necklace. I love this for many reasons, a few being: I love words, I love reflection – and most of all, I love the word that she has pictured on her website… grace.

Grace, the middle name of my precious second born, embodies a beautiful virtue. It is a gift that God gives us – and what we, in turn, can give each other. It is humility, compassion, respect, dignity, forgiveness, love, beauty and elegance. It is hope in moments of desperation. It is optimism in the face of fear. It is being the bigger person. And showing small acts of kindness.

I love the simple, yet profound, question that Lisa asks on her website:

What will your word be this year?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Laurie Larson permalink
    January 12, 2011 8:49 pm

    Dear Lauren – YOU are grace!
    Continued blessings,
    Laurie

  2. January 14, 2011 1:57 am

    LOVE this post. I followed you over from Kelle’s because of your words about grace. It is a beautiful word, and means so much to me as well:) I experienced it every day this past year… even though I have known the grace of God for many years, never was it more real to me than this year.
    BEAUTIFUL necklace as well!

Leave a Reply

